Kudos Kinokuniya!

Posted on June 6, 2008. Filed under: Social Media |

Prof Michael Netzley recommended the book Groundswell by Charlene Li over the week.

I went over to PageOne @ Vivocity on Wednesday 4 June 08, which is near my workplace to see if I can get a copy of the book. I was also looking for Naked Conversations by Robert Scoble and Shel Israel and Public Relations for Asia by Trevor Morris and Simon Goldsworthy.

After asking the counter girl for the books, she promptly told me that the shop didn’t carry any. I asked her if I could order the books, and she took down my particulars. I was told that PageOne would check with their suppliers and I would get a response thereafter. I haven’t heard from them since.

Anyway, I was sourcing around for the books on Amazon it will take weeks before they can deliver the books over to Singapore.

I decided to try the other big name, Kinokuniya. They have a really functional website that opens with a ‘bookweb’. It’s much like the amazon search engine that makes it fairly easy to find the books you are looking for.

I found all three books there and they were all available for sale.

My next pleasant surprise was that they deliver, free of charge, if you spend more than $50. That’s amazing since mostly, if you buy books, you will actually spend more than the amount.

I placed my order at about 6on Wednesday, and ordered all three books. I, of course, capitalised on the free delivery to my office.

The next pleasant surprise was the speed of which they responded. Thursday morning, I received an email to confirm my order, and also to alert me that my delivery will on Friday (One day later)!

I got my books this morning, all in good order. I paid cash on delivery and there was little hassle.

Absolutely an experience that I recommend to everybody.

Kudos Kinokuniya!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

